The one thing I will brag on my wife and I’s relationship about is that when we talk over things we really want to do, we actually DO THEM.  There’s not too much hemming and hawing over the cons of a thing, we just do it and work it all out after.  Now that may be young person approach to life, marriage, and a family life, but that is where a lot of the fun lies.  Within the confines of our trust in each other and our confidence in our children to follow us even when it isn’t fun, we dream big and what’s more, we are blessed to live bigger.  Simple things that may seem annoying for someone to write about are actually the bread and butter of why I write.  Those things that make a daily life worth living are the moments that define simplicity.  It doesn’t always need to be a long road to trip see baseball teams no one has ever heard of, 7 hours away from where you live to be a day in the life (uh, yeah, we did that!).  Sometimes it’s just sitting around making pickles with my family that brings the brightest moments of joy and peace to my life.

Pickles

I know, I said that so nonchalantly as if it’s an everyday occurrence.  I can assure you, it its not.  We had received a plethora of cucumbers from our kindhearted elderly neighbor who always brings our family extra food from her church who give her more food than she can ever handle on her own.  Prior to today I had talked with my wife about making pickles with our new canning set that we had received as a wedding gift.  After church we drove home, made brunch, and relaxed.  After about 20 minutes my mind was racing on how to do the pickles.  I looked up several recipes and found a few similar recipes to that of Claussen garlic dill pickles in my wife’s pintrest pages.  Without much deliberation I proceeded to explain to my wife that I wanted to do this together.  She agreed and off I went to the store to grab supplies.

Pickles 3

All in all we worked well as a team with my wife and daughter cutting up the onions and garlic while I boiled the brine; and also divvied up the appropriate spices per pickle jar.

Pickles 2

Sometimes it’s the existing as a family that makes our days so incredibly amazing.  Whether it’s going to the batting cages, going kayaking down a river, making pickles, or even going to church, our lives are blessed and we are so grateful.  We are so blessed to build gardens, raise chickens, make pickles, and cultivate our family to glorify our Maker.  Genesis 1 said it best:

Genesis 1:28-31

28And God blessed them. And God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it, and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” 29And God said, “Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the face of all the earth, and every tree with seed in its fruit. You shall have them for food. 30And to every beast of the earth and to every bird of the heavens and to everything that creeps on the earth, everything that has the breath of life, I have given every green plant for food.” And it was so. 31And God saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good. And there was evening and there was morning, the sixth day.

We teach our ladies that everything we do and say should be backed up with Scripture.  It’s a healthy practice to continually base your actions on a solid foundation especially for young children.  They learn so much and always want to know “WHY?”  That is the million dollar question they always want to know.  “Why do I do what I do and say what I say?  Who am I?  Simple things like making pickles with them is a perfect opportunity for my wife and I to interject a bit of God’s plan for their lives.

Deuteronomy 6:6-9

6And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. 7You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. 8You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. 9You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.

As you see, even that is backed up.  As you may also note, our pickles may not turn out perfect.  Youtube’s infinte amount of wisdom on pickle-making made me realize how little I actually know about pickling and canning and, yes, you can very well say that that is a reason to analyze a bit more before just jumping right into something.  Here’s the thing.  WE DID IT.  Action is huge.  Without it we would still be talking about it right now, or possibly moved onto something else because we might have found it was boring.  Do it!  Make pickles! Make Mistakes!  Have Fun!

Blessings