Isaiah 40:28-31

Have you not known? Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
    the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He does not faint or grow weary;
    his understanding is unsearchable.
He gives power to the faint,
    and to him who has no might he increases strength.
Even youths shall faint and be weary,
    and young men shall fall exhausted;
but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;
    they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
    they shall walk and not faint.

 

My favorite Bible verse of all time.  I think I’ve romanticized this passage over the years as my fail-safe for myself.  I’ve always been aware of how dangerous my freedom actually was but once I was living in my own freedom I knew I needed some sort of self-control.  Life was always supposed to be full of freedom to do as I pleased without consequences – at least that was the world I wanted to live in.  Growing up a great many things have caused me to question if I really was meant to have so much freedom to do as I pleased.  Today at work in one of the most bizarre happenings of my career in the construction industry I walked through a door and my forearm was lacerated by a falling piece of stainless steel outside corner that was not adhered properly.  I was very aware of my surroundings and was watching all of the workers around me in order to see if they were doing anything unsafe that might hurt them or anyone else around them.  Out of the corner of my eye I saw a shiny metallic glint that was moving fast and from a high point.  I hardly had any time to dodge the stainless corner as it fell with all of it energy straight into my forearm.  Blood instantly started pouring out of my arm so I pulled my arm up to look at the damage.  It was deep.  Not just a little 1/4″ gash, but rather a 1/2″ deep cut that went to inches down my arm.  I immediately went to grab some rags I knew I had up at my first aid station but they were not there.  I ran back to the doorway where the four guys who had witnessed it were still standing there watching me scramble for something to stop the flow of blood dripping from my cut.  I yelled for them to grab me a rag or something and when no one answered I grabbed one from a pocket of a nearby onlooker and pressed as hard as I could and pressured my brachial artery with ll of the strength from my other hand.  Noticing that my hand was not strong enough to stop such a strong flow of blood, I grabbed a guy and we went out to my truck, had him grab my gun-shot trauma wound kit, gave him my knife to open it, and had him wrap it as tight as he could around my cut.  I later had another guy wrap another rag around my brachial artery as I needed more pressure to slow the flow of blood.

Injury

I am very grateful that it didn’t hit my head or another vital area and that it wasn’t anyone else but me.  If it was another worker I’d beat myself up for sure as I care very much for everyone under my care.  I wouldn’t take that very well.  I am so thankful that my faith in Jesus Christ and my calm heart led me to calmly assess the situation, manage my own trauma, and not become angry at the person I assumed responsible for the accident.  To resist that anger meant the world to me.  I know that the joy that I have with the hope I live for helped keep me calm and those gifts were not of my hand but by the love and grace of Him who cares for me more than I do for myself.

gives me that explanation quite clearly:

And you were dead in the trespasses and sins in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience— among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body[a] and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind.[b] But[c] God, beingrich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, evenwhen we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him andseated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace inkindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been savedthrough faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. 10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

Blessings,